Quote of the day: Megan Rapinoe

“I have chosen to kneel because in the time it has taken me to write this article, many more Americans have been lost to senseless violence. I have chosen to kneel because not two miles from my hotel in Columbus, Ohio, on the night before our USWNT match against Thailand, a 13-year-old boy named Tyre King was fatally shot by a police officer. I have chosen to kneel because I simply cannot stand for the kind of oppression this country is allowing against its own people. I have chosen to kneel because, in the words of Emma Lazarus, ‘Until we are all free, we are none of us free.’”

– Megan Rapinoe, in Why I Am Kneeling, written for The Players’ Tribune

megan kneel

Megan Rapinoe during the national anthem before Team USA played the Netherlands, Sept. 18, 2016. (Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

 

Please click HERE to follow @finishersblog on Twitter.

What do you think? Tell us!

