Whitney Engen is ‘devastated’ to learn she’s off USWNT

engfpi

Christen Press, Whitney Engen, Tobin Heath, and Meghan Klingenberg vs. Costa Rica, Pittsburgh, Aug. 16, 2015. (Charles LeClaire/USA Today Sports)

Whitney Engen has posted this message on Instagram:

To Our Fans,

I would like to thank you for the unrelenting love and support you have shown me over the years. The USWNT fan base is one of the most caring, devoted, and faithful in the world. Unfortunately, after returning from camp, Jill called to inform me that at this time I am not in her future plans. My tenure with the National Team under her supervision has come to an end. I was extremely surprised at the timing and to say I am devastated is an understatement.

I am extremely proud of what I was able to accomplish throughout my national team career. I have devoted the last six years of my life to this team and I do not regret a minute of it. It has been an incredible journey.

At this time I am not sure what role soccer will play in my future. I believe I am in my prime and that my best years may be ahead of me. I am going to take some time with my family and decide what comes next on and off the field. Again, I cannot thank you all enough for your kindness. The many memories, signs, gifts, smiles, and cheers will never be forgotten.

Thank you!

Whitney

 

 

Please click HERE to follow @finishersblog on Twitter.

What do you think? Tell us!

