And the winner is … Duh!

player of the year

U.S. Soccer has announced five nominees for the 2015 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year award:

• Lauren Holiday
• Carli Lloyd
• Megan Rapinoe
• Becky Sauerbrunn
• Hope Solo

The winner will be selected on the basis of votes from national team coaches, U.S. women who have earned a cap in 2015,  members of the U.S. Soccer board of directors, U.S. Soccer’s Athlete Council, National Women’s Soccer League coaches, select college head coaches and select media members.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday (Dec., 16) during pregame coverage of the match between the United States and China on Fix Sports 1.

These are five of my favorite players (see mini-bios from U.S. Soccer here), and every one of them deserves the honor.

But, really… Is there any doubt about the 2015 winner?

Carli Lloyd. (Elaine Thompson/AP)

Elaine Thompson/AP




What do you think? Tell us!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s