Head injuries leave Abby Wambach scared about the future

Antonio Morano/KENS 5

Antonio Morano/KENS 5

Abby Wambach says she’s started to worry about the long-term effects of all the head traumas she’s experienced.

All those collisions. All those elbows and knees and boots to the skull. All the times she was taken down and felt her head bang against the ground.

The thousands of balls she’s headed. And at least one serious concussion that she played through.

“My future does scare me,” the 35-year-old Wambach told People.

She added, “The reality is that when you play sports you’re putting yourself at risk. But there are way to lower that risk.”

Wambach, spoke with youth soccer players in Manhattan about the importance of properly diagnosing and treating head injuries. Her appearance was sponsored by Triax Technologies Inc., a maker of headbands and other products that electronically monitor impacts to an athlete’s head.

Abby Wambach with kids at the Chelsea Piers sports complex in Manhattan. (Triax)

Abby Wambach with kids at the Chelsea Piers sports complex in Manhattan. (Triax)

“This is state-of-the-art stuff I didn’t have growing up,” she said.

Knowing what I do about Wambach, I’m not sure she would have paid much attention to any warnings from the gear.

“In 2013, I got a concussion and I remember telling the referee and trainer that I was okay when I wasn’t,” she said.

“I played for about two or three more minutes and I couldn’t even see the ball.”

Abby Wambach, wearing a Triax headband, tracks the impact data it's transmitted. (Triax)

Abby Wambach, wearing a Triax headband, tracks the impact data it’s transmitted. (Triax)

 

Please click HERE to follow @finishersblog on Twitter.

 

What do you think? Tell us!

