Olympic qualifier will be in Dallas and Houston













Been meaning to post this for some time. The CONCACAF qualifier for the 2016 Olympics will take place in Dallas and Houston in February.

Here’s the story from The Equalizer.

Eight teams from North America, Central America and the Caribbean will take part in the tournament, with the top two qualifying for the Olympic Games in Rio.

Dallas will host group games on Feb. 10, Feb. 13, and Feb, 15.

(To be more precise, those games will be at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, the home of Major League Soccer’s FC Dallas. If you’ve never been, it’s a GREAT soccer venue,)

Houston will host group games on Feb. 11, Feb. 14, and Feb. 16. The Houston matches will be at  BBVA Compass Stadium, home of the NWSL’s Houston Dash.

The two top teams from each group will advance to the semifinals in Houston on Feb. 19, with the title game on Feb. 21 in Houston. (Both teams in the finals will have qualified for the Olympics.)

The United States, Mexico and Canada are already in the tournament. They will be joined by three Caribbean teams and two Central American teams, to be chosen in qualifiers in September.

The United States has never failed to qualify for the Olympics since women’s soccer became a medal sport in 1996. If five Olympics, the Americans have won four gold medals and one silver.




What do you think? Tell us!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s